The Four Precious Gemstones

There are only four stones in the world classified as precious gemstones and we are proud to say we use them all in our jewellery and rings. The “Big Four” are:


Diamonds, reputedly a “girl’s best friend”, are the hardest naturally occurring material known to man. They are one of the most treasured stones in the world and feature strongly in Ebony Jewellery's Unique Showroom Collection as well as many of our jewellery collections. Our Guide to Diamonds has more information about the Cut, Clarity, Colour and Carat of the diamonds we use.

Blue Sapphire

After diamonds, sapphires are the next hardest gemstone and one of the most valuable. Sapphires belong to the corundum family of rock minerals, which occur in many colours. All colours, other than red corundum, are known as sapphires, with a blue sapphire being the most coveted even though other colours may be rarer. 

Red Ruby

Ruby, known for its bright red colour, is a variety of the corundum mineral. All other varieties of the mineral are sapphires. Like sapphires, rubies are second only to diamonds in their hardness and brilliance, but they are rarer than both diamonds and blue sapphires. 

Green Emerald

These richly coloured stones belong to the beryl group, which also includes aquamarine. Emerald's captivating green colour is unique and unparalleled in all other gemstones due to inclusions that make each stone unique. Along with high quality diamonds, blue sapphires and red rubies, the green emerald is one of the “big four”. Unlike the other three, however, emeralds are more fragile and exposure to excessive moisture should be avoided.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published